Lightner (Then & Now)

The Alcazar was Henry Flagler's second grand hotel in St Augustine. Completed in 1888, it closed in 1931 and was purchased in 1947 by O. C. Lightner, re-opening in 1948 as The Lightner Museum of Hobbies to showcase Lightner's impressive array of artwork, antiques, and curios. It is now home to St. Augustine's city offices, the Lightner Museum, Café Alcazar (where one dines within the former swimming pool!), and various other small shops.

Confidence in location accuracy: 100%

See for yourself: just stand in front Lightner on the other side of King Street.

We offer a beautiful reproduction postcard of the older image here. The price includes a 51-cent "forever" postcard stamp.

Check out all of our Before & After Images.